Loved and Wanted - SALE

Loved and Wanted - SALE

9781786580542

'Haunting, wild, and quiet at once. A shimmering look at motherhood, in all gothic pain and glory. I could not stop reading.' Lisa Taddeo, author of Three Women

A harrowing account of one woman's reckoning with life, death and choice in Trump's America.

For readers of Educated and Hillbilly Elegy. In 2017, Christa Parravani had recently moved her family from California to West Virginia. Surviving on a teacher's salary, she was already raising two young children with her husband, screenwriter Anthony Swofford.

Another pregnancy, a year after giving birth to her second child, came as a shock. Christa had a history of ectopic pregnancies and was worried that she wouldn't be able to find adequate medical care. She immediately requested a termination - but her doctor refused to help.

The only doctor who would perform an abortion made it clear that this would be illicit, not condoned by her colleagues or their community. In exploring her own choice, or rather in discovering her lack of it, Christa reveals the desperate state of female healthcare in contemporary America.

'A brutally honest, rollercoaster of a journey that left me championing her bravery.' Esther Freud'I will never forget this book. Read it. This is all I can say.' Rachel Louise Snyder

'Stunningly good' The Bookseller

'Everyone should read this book' Sarah Mansugo

Regular price £14.99 Sale price£10.00 Save 33%
/
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

  • In stock, ready to ship
  • Inventory on the way

We deliver to addresses in the UK only.

Shipments are sent via Royal Mail and you will receive a tracking number as soon as your order is dispatched.

Bonnier Books Ltd

2020

Adult Non Fiction

Biography and Autobiography and Sale

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Audiobooks

Interested in audiobooks too? The good news is you can buy them on The Feminist Bookshop audiobooks page!

https://libro.fm/thefeministbookshop


Recently viewed