You Exist Too Much

You Exist Too Much

9780349701776

'Deeply compelling... Sexy.' Roxane Gay

'Takes you on a dizzying tour of love addiction, rehab, homophobia, betrayal, obsession and the aching need for a mother's unconditional love. At different times throughout, you'll find the protagonist needy, reckless and selfish but also smart, intuitive and trapped between two cultures - because as we all know, humans are nothing if not complicated. Roxane is right: this deserves five stars.' Stylist

Told in vignettes that flash between the US and the Middle East, Zaina Arafat's powerful debut novel traces her protagonist's progress from blushing teen to creative and confused adulthood. In Brooklyn, she moves into an apartment with her first serious girlfriend and tries to content herself with their comfortable relationship. Soon, her longings, so closely hidden during her teenage years, explode out into reckless romantic encounters and obsessions with other people which results in her seeking unconventional help to face her past traumas and current demons.

As heard on Radio 2 Book Club, this captivating novel is perfect for readers who love Maggie Nelson and Garth Greenwell. Opening up the fantasies and desires of one young woman caught between cultural, religious and sexual identities, You Exist Too Much is a captivating story charting two of our most intense longings - for love, and a place to call home. 

Regular price£8.99
/
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

  • In stock, ready to ship
  • Inventory on the way

All our deliveries are with Royal Mail.

Royal Mail First Class - usually dispatched within 24 hours (orders placed Mondays and Tuesdays are dispatched on Wednesday)

Royal Mail Second Class - usually dispatched within 24-36 hours (orders placed Mondays and Tuesdays are dispatched on Wednesday)

Little, Brown Book Group

2021

Adult Fiction

Modern Fiction and Literary Fiction

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.


Recently viewed