The Black Kids

The Black Kids

9781471188190

Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel is a unflinching exploration of race, class, and violence as well as the importance of being true to yourself.

Los Angeles, 1992: Ashley Bennett and her friends are living the charmed life. It's the end of high school and they're spending more time at the beach than in the classroom.

They can already feel the sunny days and endless possibilities of summer. But everything changes one afternoon in April, when four police officers are acquitted after beating a black man named Rodney King half to death. Suddenly, Ashley's not just one of the girls.

She's one of the black kids. As violent protests engulf LA and the city burns, Ashley tries to continue on as if life were normal. Even as her self-destructive sister gets dangerously involved in the riots.

Even as the model black family facade her wealthy and prominent parents have built starts to crumble. Even as her best friends help spread a rumor that could completely derail the future of her classmate and fellow black kid, LaShawn Johnson. With her world splintering around her, Ashley, along with the rest of LA, is left to question who is the us? And who is the them?

Praise for The Black Kids:

'Should be required reading in every classroom' - Nic Stone, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin

'A prescient coming-of-age debut' - Elle.com

'Utterly brilliant' - STYLIST

Regular price£7.99
/
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

  • In stock, ready to ship
  • Inventory on the way

We deliver to addresses in the UK only.

Shipments are sent via Royal Mail and you will receive a tracking number as soon as your order is dispatched.

Simon & Schuster Ltd

2020

Children & YA

Teen and Young Adult

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.


Recently viewed