Shallow Waters

Shallow Waters

9781982177614

In this "captivating" (Harper's Bazaar) and lyrical debut novel-perfect for fans of The Water Dancer and the Legacy of Orisha series-the Yoruba deity of the sea, Yemaya, is brought to vivid life as she discovers the power of Black resilience, love, and feminine strength in antebellum America. Shallow Waters imagines Yemaya, an Orisha-a deity in the religion of Africa's Yoruba people-cast into mid-1800s America. We meet Yemaya as a young woman, still in the care of her mother and not yet fully aware of the spectacular power she possesses to protect herself and those she holds dear.


The journey laid out in Shallow Waters sees Yemaya confront the greatest evils of this era; transcend time and place in search of Obatala, a man who sacrifices his own freedom for the chance at hers; and grow into the powerful woman she was destined to become. We travel alongside Yemaya from her native Africa and on to the "New World," with vivid pictures of life for those left on the outskirts of power in the nascent Americas. Yemaya realizes the fighter within, travels the Underground Railroad in search of the mysterious stranger Obatala, and crosses paths with icons of our history on the road to freedom.

Shallow Waters is a "riveting and heartbreaking" (Publishers Weekly) work of ritual storytelling from promising debut author Anita Kopacz.

Regular price£9.99
/
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

  • In stock, ready to ship
  • Inventory on the way

All our deliveries are with Royal Mail.

Royal Mail First Class - usually dispatched within 24 hours (orders placed Mondays and Tuesdays are dispatched on Wednesday)

Royal Mail Second Class - usually dispatched within 24-36 hours (orders placed Mondays and Tuesdays are dispatched on Wednesday)

Simon & Schuster

2022

Adult Fiction

Modern Fiction, Fantasy, and Historical Fiction/Retellings

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

You may also like


Recently viewed