Group

Group

9781471197871

This unrestrained memoir is a transporting experience and one of the most startlingly hopeful books I have ever read. It will make you want to get better, whatever better means for you.' Lisa Taddeo, New York Times bestselling author of Three Women

For fans of Three Women and Everything I Know About Love comes a refreshingly original memoir about self-discovery, loneliness and love. A guarded young lawyer reluctantly joins a psychotherapy group where she has to share her innermost thoughts with six complete strangers.

In turn she finds human connection, and herself. "What's going to happen to me when I start group?" "All of your secrets are going to come out." Christie Tate has just been named the top student in her law school class and seems to finally have got her eating disorder under control. So why is she driving through Chicago fantasising about her own death? Desperate, she joins Dr Rosen's psychotherapy group, and through his unconventional methods, he challenges everything she thought she knew, about herself and others.

In group, secrets are not allowed. This means telling a group of strangers everything - about her struggle with bulimia, her failed sex life, her overwhelming sense of loneliness and acute longing for a relationship. And as she keeps sharing her thoughts and feelings and listens to the others doing the same, her life slowly begins to change.

This is a deliciously compelling read, and an intimate journey through the daring, exhilarating, painful, and hilarious journey that is group therapy - a process that breaks you down, and then reassembles you so that all the pieces finally fit.

'This book will remind you how to come back to yourself even when you want to give up, make you laugh, make you cry, help you breathe. This book will save lives' Lidia Yuknavitch

Regular price£16.99
/
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

  • In stock, ready to ship
  • Inventory on the way

All our deliveries are with Royal Mail.

Royal Mail First Class - usually dispatched within 24 hours (orders placed Mondays and Tuesdays are dispatched on Wednesday)

Royal Mail Second Class - usually dispatched within 24-36 hours (orders placed Mondays and Tuesdays are dispatched on Wednesday)

Simon & Schuster Ltd

2020

Adult Non Fiction

Biography and Autobiography and Mind Body and Spirit

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

You may also like


Recently viewed